Pearland TX

Asteroid set to pass Earth on Tuesday

A near Earth object (NEO) is expected to pass by Earth on Tuesday at more than 30,000 miles per hour.

According to NASA, the asteroid will fly by Earth around 11:55 a.m. CT.

You can read the bulletin below:

“On Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2019, at 12:55 PM EST (2019-Feb-19 17:55 UTC), Near Earth Object (2013 MD8), between 38 and 86 meters (126 to 282 feet) in size, will pass the Earth at 15.1 lunar distances, traveling at 13.60 kilometers per second (30,418 miles per hour).”

NEOs are comets and asteroids that have been nudged by the gravitational attraction of nearby planets into orbits that allow them to enter Earth’s neighborhood, reports NASA. Composed mostly of water ice with embedded dust particles, comets originally formed in the cold outer planetary system while most of the rocky asteroids formed in the warmer inner solar system between the orbits of Mars and Jupiter.

Nasa says the asteroid will pass Earth at 15.1 lunar distances or just over 3.5 million miles and it is very unlikely that the asteroid will hit Earth.

 

Advertisements

Categories: Pearland TX