Pearland TX

Hoax message making rounds on Facebook

No, your Facebook account is not being cloned, despite that viral message that keeps popping up in your inbox.

Facebook users are being tricked into thinking their accounts are being cloned by hackers, thanks to a viral message that spread across inboxes over the weekend.

One version of the message reads: “Hi… I actually got another friend request from you yesterday…which I ignored so you may want to check your account. Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears…then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too…I had to do the people individually. Good Luck!”

“Your account isn’t sending duplicate friend requests, and you didn’t receive a request from the person you’re forwarding it to. You’re simply doing it because the message tells you to,” one expert said.

The hoax isn’t new; it first surfaced back in October. But the messages are once again making the rounds, prompting a new warning to disregard them.

Security experts urge people who get these messages to just delete them.

Advertisements